All You Need To Know About The UEFA Nations League ! -


Post Top Ad

Advertise Here

Post Top Ad

Sunday, 2 September 2018

All You Need To Know About The UEFA Nations League !

UEFA Nations League
In a couple days, the new International competition for European National teams will kick off known as the UEFA Nations League.
To the avid football watching fan, the UEFA Nations League is super confusing since there’s already the well known UEFA European Championships also known as the Euros. So what is the UEFA Nations League about? Here’s what you need to know
The Nations League is a brand new international tournament for European teams and the aim is to eliminate meaningless friendlies during International breaks. The teams will battle to then feature in a final four in 2019 to decide who will be crowned champion.
So How Will It Work?
55 European teams would be split into four leagues (A, B, C and D) based on their UEFA ranking. Within those four leagues, the teams will be split again into groups, which will be made up of either three to four teams.
In each of the four leagues, four teams will be promoted at the end of the cycle, while four teams will be relegated. They will then play at their new level in the next competition, which starts in 2020.
The winners of the four groups in League A will qualify for the Final Four competition.
Check Out The Groups Below
UEFA Nations League

League A

Group 1: Germany, France, Netherlands
Group 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland
Group 3: Portugal, Italy, Poland
Group 4: Spain, England, Croatia

League B

Group 1: Slovakia, Ukraine, Czech Republic
Group 2: Russia, Sweden, Turkey
Group 3: Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Northern Ireland
Group 4: Wales, Republic of Ireland, Denmark

League C

Group 1: Scotland, Albania, Israel
Group 2: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia
Group 3: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus
Group 4: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania

League D

Group 1: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra
Group 2: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino
Group 3: Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Kosovo
Group 4: FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar
When Will The Games Be Played?
  • Matchday 1: September 6-9, 2018
  • Matchday 2: September 9-11, 2018
  • Matchday 3: October 11-13, 2018
  • Matchday 4: October 14-16, 2018
  • Matchday 5: November 15-17, 2018
  • Matchday 6: November 18-20, 2018
  • Finals: June 5-9, 2019
The tournament kicks off on Thursday, September 6 with Germany taking on World Champions, France.
What is The Final Four?
This will take place in June 2019 and would involve the group winners from League A. There will be a one-game semi-final stage followed by the final with the winner of that named the Nations League champion.
The Final Four tournament will occur in odd years, meaning that when there isn’t a World Cup or European Championship tournament, there will be a Nations League winner.
And The Benefits?
According to UEFA, “The UEFA Nations League creates more meaningful and competitive matches for teams and a dedicated calendar and structure for national team football”.  The association believes the Nations League addresses concerns national associations raised about friendlies no longer providing adequate competition.
Weaker teams will also face teams ranked around their level so there will be fewer lopsided scorelines and more meaningful games for fans.

No comments:

Read Comment Policy ▼
We have Zero Tolerance to Spam. Chessy Comments and Comments with Links will be deleted immediately upon our review.

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Khorgist ?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2348123601750, Social Media @khorgist_com: Email: [email protected] More information here.